Identity Check

This devotional was written by Emmaclaire Tenney, a student leader on the Conference Council on Youth Ministries.

Listening to the radio today, I heard something very interesting and I thought I would like to share. The talk show host was talking about self- esteem, mostly in teenagers, and how it reflects our identity. As young adults and children, who are desperately trying to “figure ourselves out” and understand what it means to be the disciple God has called us to be. The guy on the radio said that so many people these days are building their identity on “crushable” things; activities, relationships, hobbies, etc. Crushable meaning anything that is not constant, and can change. He used an example of a baseball player and a young couple.

A baseball player, who is really talented, may get his self-esteem, and identity, by saying he is a great baseball player; which very well might be true. But what happens when he gets injured and cannot play anymore? He thought he was going to make it to the major leagues and now he can’t even finish his senior year playing his favorite sport. Everything he has built his identity and self-esteem on is now crushed.

Another example is a young girl/boy who may have thought she/he has found the “love of their life” who has built their whole life and identity in their partner. Well what happens when they break up? They are crushed and so is their identity.
I think if young people (myself included) would start looking at what is most important in this world, building our identity would come naturally, with the help of Christ.

Psalm 139: 13-14, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful. I know that full well.”

The key to high self-esteem and being “happy with yourself” is in your creator. God made each and every one of us with no mistake. He knows every hair on our heads and every thought that runs through our brains. God made us the way we are for a very specific reason, and I don’t see why we should not be thanking Him daily for making us the way we are.

Build your identity in something that cannot be “crushed” and watch your self-esteem flourish from it.